Valley Center Community Yard Sale

Date: Saturday, June 5, 2021

Description:

The annual Valley Center Community Yard Sale is a don’t-miss for buyers and sellers... »

Turbo Buick Car Show

Date: Sunday, June 6, 2021

Description:

Come join the Southern California Gran Sport club and take a trip back to the era that started... »

Camping Under the Stars

Date: Saturday, August 21, 2021 to Sunday, August 22, 2021

Description:

Spend an evening on the farm with family and friends at the annual Campout! Bring a tent or RV... »

The 2021 Pumpkin Patch

Date: Saturday, September 18, 2021 to Sunday, October 31, 2021

Description:

Over 50 plus years of fall traditions and memories have been created at the Bates Nut Farm... »

Arts, Crafts & Vintage Market

Date: Saturday, October 2, 2021 to Sunday, October 3, 2021

Description: Come and shop for American handmade arts and crafts on the farm at the "Pumpkin Festival" Arts,... »

30th Annual Scarecrow Contest

Date: Saturday, October 9, 2021

Description:

Join in the fun by designing and building a scarecrow to exhibit in the Bates Nut Farm Pumpkin... »

Howl-o-Ween Doggie Costume Contest & Parade

Date: Saturday, October 23, 2021

Description:

Don’t miss the annual “Howl-o-ween” Doggie Costume Contest & Parade on... »

Annual Costume Contest & Parade

Date: Sunday, October 24, 2021

Description:

You and your family have worked hard on your Halloween costumes…here’s your... »

Christmas Arts, Crafts & Vintage Market

Date: Friday, November 26, 2021 to Sunday, November 28, 2021

Description: Start your holiday shopping early for American handmade arts and crafts at the “Christmas
... »

Event: 27th Annual Scarecrow Contest

« return to October, 2018

Event Flyer

Date: Saturday, October 13, 2018

Time: All Day

Location: Bates Nut Farm

Email:

Phone: 760-749-3333

Description: Join in the fun by designing and building a scarecrow to exhibit in the Bates Nut Farm Pumpkin Patch. Keep the lost art of scarecrow making alive! Your scarecrow will be on display in the Pumpkin Patch thru 10/31/18. Individuals, groups and clubs are invited to enter; each entry will receive a free jack-o-lantern pumpkin and certificate of participation. All winning scarecrows become the property of Bates Nut Farm and will be added to our famous scarecrow collection.

Bring your scarecrow and completed registration form to the pumpkin patch from 1-5 pm on Friday, October 12 or before 10 am on Saturday, October 13. Cash prizes and gift certificates will be awarded to the top entries in each category. Entry forms are available online or at the Bates office. All of the Pumpkin Patch festivities will continue throughout the weekend including the tractor hayrides, straw maze, pony rides, and food. Admission is free. $5.00 parking on October weekends.

Click here for the Entry Form.